8th Annual Bell Helicopter Armed Forces Bowl Golf Tournament

The 8th annual Bell Helicopter Armed Forces Bowl Golf Tournament was held Friday, Sept. 16 at Walnut Creek Country Club to thank those who contributed to a successful 2010 bowl game.

The event included more than 200 players and volunteers and more than 60 representatives from our corporate partner companies. All five branches of the United States armed forces were also represented as we had teams of Army, Marines, Navy, Air Force and Coast Guard servicemen. New this year, we began a competition amongst the military teams to determine our Military Branch Golf Champion. This year’s winner… the Marines, represented by MGySgt Brian Comeaux, GySgt Mike McClaughry, Major Jon Camarillo and Civ Bob Sanders.  

Christin Baloglou from the USO was present to accept donations to support active military personnel all over the world. Two round-trip, first-class tickets were donated by American Airlines to our live auction with all proceeds going to the USO. The auction was won by Jerad Rector of Worldwide Commercial, PLLC. 

Donated raffle and hole prizes came from many generous sponsors and partners of the bowl, including Conference USA, Marriott International, Four Day Weekend, Omni Fort Worth Hotel, Reata Restaurant, Hawk Electronics, Cash America, DFW Movers & Erectors, Hillwood Properties, Humana Military Healthcare Services, Texas Health Ben Hogan, Wynne Sedan & Limousine Group, The Big Game, Joe T. Garcia’s, Dalton Photography, Armed Forces Insurance, Sundance Square PAC, Inc, Colonial Country Club and Frankie’s Bar & Grill.

A special thanks to the Renaissance Worthington, Rosa’s Café, Pepsi, Ben E. Keith Beers, Scott Murray of Murray Media and all our volunteers for donating their time and resources to making the tournament a success.

The first place team on the Oak Course was Jeff Goodsell, Kathryn Grenig, Joanne Massey and Trevor Armstrong.

The first place team on the Pecan Course was Joel Strickland, Cory Roseborrough, Richard McDaniel and Ted Waldrip.  

Other tournament winners include:

2nd Place

Oak: Brian Happel, Carl Hanna, Brian Kaelin and Chad Carroll. 

Pecan: Danny Ahlers, Neal Ingle, Jerry Jones and Josh Welch.
Men’s Longest Drive
Oak: Jeff Goodsell
Pecan: Ted Waldrop

Ladies’ Longest Drive
Oak: Kim Slawson
Pecan: Bernie Good

Closest to the Pin
Oak: Porter Williams
Pecan: Michael Tothe